Setting a customer data retention period and auto deletion

As part of the General Data Protection Regulations (GDPR), you are required to have a customer data retention period and delete customer data in line with this policy.  You can specify your data retention period within your TicketSource account and the system will automatically delete a customer’s personal data once this period has expired.


Personal data consists of a customer’s name, address, email, phone number and membership number – i.e. any identifiable data.  Booking details (e.g. event, ticket information, ticket value) is not personal data and will not be deleted.


To set your retention period, go to:


  • "Account | Data Protection Settings”.
  • Next to “Retain customer data” select your retention period from 12 months to indefinitely*. 
  • Scroll to the bottom and click on “save changes”.


*Retention rules:


The retention period is calculated from the date of a customer’s last booking.  If a customer is a frequent booker, the retention period countdown resets at each subsequent booking and therefore a customer’s personal data will only be deleted if their customer account is dormant for the retention period.


Following the retention period, customers’ historic booking details will be preserved but their personal details will be purged and anonymised.


Customer data will be automatically purged from our servers when it falls outside of the specified retention period.


If you have linked your TicketSource account to a MailChimp account, affected customers will be automatically unsubscribed from your MailChimp mailing list when their data is purged from our servers.


Please exercise caution when applying this setting as customer data cannot be retrieved once it has been purged from our servers inline with GDPR requirements. 

Category: Managing Your Account

Keywords: gdpr, data protection, customer data, data retention

Last modified on Mon 23 April 2018